News & Events

Save the date – our Annual Awards Celebration is on Friday, 7 June

Our annual event will get a fresh new look in June, moving to the Glen Street Theatre, Belrose

  • Not only will the awards move from Dee Why RSL to the Glen Street Theatre in Belrose, but the seated dinner will be swapped out for an array of canapés and a substantial grazing station (which will also feature vegan, vegetarian and gluten free options). It will be designed as a “mix-and-mingle format” allowing guests to catch up with many more friends during the evening.
  • Transport to and from the venue will be included in the ticket price.
  • We also planning two “After Parties” – one for our under 18s and their parents at the surf club and another at The Park House, Mona Vale.
  • We will have more details as well as the ability to book seats online organised by mid April.  In the meantime, please put this date in your diary.
  • If you are working in the city that day, there are a few buses departing from Clarence Street (Stand S) that will bring you to Glen St opposite Glenrose Village Shopping Centre (Bus Stop ID 208687)
  • The changes we’ve made with the new venue and format will offer greater value for money and a quality experience for our members, their guests and our award nominees.
  • The Newport SLSC Major Annual Awards will be open for nominations in early May.
    • Peter Dawson, OAM Best New Member
    • Tom Guthrie Rookie of the Year
    • John Holland (Snr) Committee Member of the Year
    • Competitor of the Year
    • Hans Trumm, OAM Award for Patrolling Excellence
    • Paul Stevens Junior Clubman of the Year
    • Clubman of the Year, Michael Hill Memorial Trophy